Tips and tricks, ingame mechanics/technical guide/beginner guide.

Тема в разделе 'ALLODS2.EU: Handbook', создана пользователем Himi, 27 июл 2023.

1. Himi Аллодер

I've never written a guide before.
    But I started playing this game about a month ago and learned a lot and I think it's good to have this knowledge out there.

1. Technical stuff.

First and foremost this game struggles a lot under newer operating systems and it will take you a while to optimize it for yourself. Basically what I'm saying is use ddwrapper, read what each option does, experiment with all options until the game feels best for you, do the same for dxwnd. In Cthulu's post he has his dxwnd config posted and it uses primary surface renderer which for me works for about 1 launch of the game then it starts glitching out and I have to switch back to gdi.
    All the fps that you see in game is 'fake' so you have to go by feeling of performance.
    Do not try and run the game in virtual machine if you have to, just install an older os instead. Virtual machines also (usually) don't use your gpu.

When you're ready with ddwrapper/dxwnd settings you want to make as many login/characters as you want to play (if you die in order to not lose xp you alt+f4 from the game for 5 minutes or until map changes, if you're new it's likely that you'll die often)
    In dxwnd you want to click options and allow expert mode.
    There's a setting I found on the internet that worked for me.
    Under Timing - skip msec and experiment which works best for you, in that post it was 8 msec. Under ratio - again experiment in that post it was 2.
    Under directX - Auto primary surface blit ON and Forced mode ON.

You must have multiple instances of the game installed on your system, 1 for every character you play and 1 for map editor. If you only use 1 folder if you log in multiple characters on the same map you'll run into the error of sprite.256 missing which kicks you out of the game every now and then.